What is Hatha Yoga?

Hatha yoga is a branch of yoga primarily concerned with mastery of the body, it is generally practiced more slowly and with more static posture holds then found in other yoga styles. However, Hatha yoga encompasses much more than the physical practice, traditionally Hatha yoga offered a total life philosophy, incorporating how we related to external and internal experience as a path to inner peace. One of the most prominent ancient texts on Hatha yoga is Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras written in Sanskrit around 400AD, in this text is outlined the eight limbs of the path of Hatha yoga:

  • Yamas – Five social observances
  • Niyamas – Five moral observances
  • Asana – Yoga postures
  • Pranayama – Breathing techniques as a means of controlling prana
  • Pratyahara – Withdrawal of the senses
  • Dharana – Concentration
  • Dhyana – Meditation
  • Samadhi – Enlightenment or bliss

These eight limbs offer a systematic approach to calming the mind and finding liberation from suffering.

In modern day balanced classical Hatha Yoga class you will be unaware of these elements, however the hatha trained teacher will bring this knowledge and training into each class to leave you feeling realigned, focused, strong and relaxed.

Yoga Classes are 75mins. Classes are for beginners to advanced students. This is a general balanced class with changing themes. A balanced Hatha class consists of centering, vinyasa warm up, classical hatha poses, pranayama breathing practice and relaxation.

Photo by Eternal Happiness on Pexels.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: