What is Sivananda Yoga?

Sivananda yoga incorporates some of the more spiritual aspects of yoga and is ideal for people seeking these teachings within their yoga practice. Sivananda Yoga is a systematic and precise approach to classical Hatha Yoga, and is one of the few schools that still follow the traditional and authentic yogic disciplines. It is based on the wisdom and principles of Swami Sivananda (1887-1963), a prominent South Indian physician, author and spiritual leader. His legacy continues through the International Sivananda Yoga Vedanta Centres and Ashrams, launched in the late 1950’s. Yoga is the union of the body, mind and spirit. According to the ancient sciences, there are four different paths that lead to this union. Each path takes a different route but ultimately arrives at the same destination.

  • Karma Yoga: The yoga of selfless action without egoism or the expectation of being rewarded.
  • Bhakti Yoga: The yoga of devotion and unconditional love through prayers, chanting, singing, worship and rituals.
  • Raja Yoga: The yoga of the mind that is achieved through the Eight Limbs, which include asanas and pranayama.
  • Jnana Yoga: The yoga of knowledge and wisdom through the study of spiritual texts and the use of intellect.

The essence of Sivananda teachings are summarized into five practical principles known as The Five Points of Yoga. They provide a framework for right living and lead to profound awareness, self transformation and the preservation of life-force.

  • Proper Exercise
  • Proper Breathing
  • Proper Relaxation
  • Proper Diet
  • Positive Thinking & Meditation

Sivananda Yoga Classes are 90mins. Classes are for intermediate to advanced students. A Sivananda class is slow and deliberate, it consists of centreing, chanting, pranayama, 12 hatha yoga poses with rest asanas, relaxation and meditation. All students must complete an Introduction to Sivananda Yoga sequence to attend classes, the introduction to Sivananda Yoga must be completed by all students wishing to attend open Sivananda Yoga Classes. The Sequence is 8 consecutive classes. All introductory and open classes involve a short lecture to the principles of yoga.

Photo by cottonbro on Pexels.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: